Planning to Party


DAILY PROMPT: It’s my party. You’re throwing a party — for you! Tell us all about the food, drink, events, and party favours you’ll have for your event of a lifetime. Use any theme you like — it’s *your* party!

I have to confess I’m not a huge party goer. Have often found myself stood at the corner of a party listening to loud music of dubious origin and wondering how long do I need to stay to be polite before I leave. I don’t want to give the wrong impression I am quite gregarious and love being out with a group of people. But to me parties are often too loud, too long and involve you in having conversations with people you don’t know. Therefore if I’m designing my own party I want to ensure the kinds of elements that would make it work for me are prioritised.

By far the most important thing would be to contain people who I knew, who I knew well, and who I liked. It would be important that in this party of a lifetime I could spend it with those people I feel closest to. For me it is important to renew friendships constantly. To bring them alive in new situations, to rejuvenate that contact that brought you together in the first place. Also important that you can choose a group that will get on well with each other. Clearly it’s a big party so you can’t be talking to everyone all the time and so it is important that they know each other, they can interact with each other and relax and enjoy themselves.

I would like the food to be good, some home-cooked food which I’d be happy to prepare myself. But will also invite guests to bring something along with them. I don’t want to be catering for people’s needs on the day so we need the kind of food that people can help themselves, get involved in barbecuing and worry about the tidying up when everyone has gone. My only rule would be no smoking!

It will be important to have a wide variety of drinks including soft drinks. They should be good quality real ale, decent wine and a smattering of spirits for those that need them. Will be important also to keep back a good bottle of vintage port which I can enjoy with a few selected friends who remain into the night. A good party would always finish with enjoying a long glass or two of port.

The party should have both inside and an outside element and some quiet background music. I would prefer people to bring their guitars and at a suitable point enjoy singing together. To me a good party has been had, not only if you have enjoyed the company but you can see that the company are enjoying being there. People need to go away happy and want to come again and to me that’s a mark of a good party and I would relax happily sipping on my vintage port!

2 thoughts on “Planning to Party

Leave a Reply

