Beware the nice dog!


DAILY PROMPT: Saved by the Bell. Tell us about a time when you managed to extract yourself from a sticky situation at the very last minute.

I was trying to work out why I could not think of a decent example of this prompt. I guess its because most of the time if a situation has become difficult I would tend to stay and calm it down. Most of such altercations are verbal. I don’t get into situations where violence is involved. I have seen some at football matches but, with my son, we steer ourselves clear of trouble.

I have to go back to the wonderful days I worked as a probation officer, now suffering unreasonable attack from government. I can recall sticky situations with clients who were becoming agitated or angry. Again though my personal safety was never threatened and often I chose not to leave until the moment has passed or calmed.

In the late 1970s I was inspecting the family home for a father making an application for custody of his child. I had to see his home and had travelled to Durham to do so. As we walked down the drive to the kitchen, he casually mentioned that he had a dog but it was friendly, something dog owners are prone to say. Anyway I entered the kitchen, noticed an Alsatian, who seconds later jumped at me and I had to put my arm out to catch his teeth. The teeth penetrated four layers of clothes and marked my skin. I retreated quickly to the safety of the garden. Now that was difficult! He did not get custody of his child!

Leave a Reply

