HK and UK


DAILY PROMPT: A Tale of Two Cities. If you could split your time evenly between two places, and two places only, which would these be?

This is an easy question to answer. I did this in 2010-11 and what a year I had. As the cricket season finished and the weather worsened, I packed my bags for a seven month sabbatical at City University, Hong Kong. I arrived as the weather was losing its oppressive, hot and humid texture which makes HK from May-September unbearable for someone not used to this humidity. I had the most wonderful time from October through to May including spending my first Christmas out of the UK. I had loads of visitors including both my daughter and my son, met and worked with some tremendous people at the University. I found the environment and lifestyle in Hong Kong to my liking.

But I missed my friends and family and also would not want to have been away during the cricket season. Accordingly in May as the weather was becoming too hot again I left Hong Kong to return to the UK to enjoy the summer months here. I returned home to my beloved Yorkshire where I have lived for most of my life and settled back into the routine of life here, working and relaxing in the UK. I could repeat this combination year on year most happily.

One thought on “HK and UK

Leave a Reply

